I’m starting to dislike the Tour de France

And LANCE.

One guy at work just calls me “LANCE” now. Every time he sees me.

The other day five different people asked me if I’m following “The Tour” and if I think LANCE will win.

Three times in the last 2 weeks people have asked why I’m not riding in it. (There’s that small matter of having a pro contract with a Pro Tour team).

Those who know a little more ask how long I *could* last in the race. (depends: flat stage with no wind? windy stage? mountain stage?)

I know they mean well, and are actually showing a little interest in a fringe sport that not too many care about, except for LANCE.

The thing is though … I like being anonymous. So on those days when I sneak out for a long ride nobody at work is thinking that I’m out riding. Now they do. Damn you LANCE!

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “I’m starting to dislike the Tour de France

  1. Yeah, and Versus isn’t helping much by glorifying every single thing Lance does.

  2. lumbertruck

    Whiner.

    Lance Armstrong, winner or not, is a hero to thousands of cancer fighters. He’s doing what he loves to do and doing it in a gracious way, too. I say go, Lance!

  3. Brian

    > Lance Armstrong, winner or not, is a hero to thousands of cancer fighters.

    AND … he always seems to be with some hot blond chick. (which makes him hero to millions?)

    well, except for that ghoulish Olsen twin.
    http://www.people.com/people/article/0,,20156021,00.html

    not sure what he was thinking there.

  4. Jim

    “Whiner”??
    How can I miss him if he won’t go away?
    I will admit that he, apparently, loves what he is doing. He is being a media whore.
    I guess I am amazed at the number of people sucked in by the “cancer” angle.
    All the blondes look like his Mother. Does this mean anything?

  5. Brian

    I don’t have any problem with media attention … or who he dates / impregnates. I just want to be able to quietly sneak out of work to ride, and he is making it difficult.

  6. Brian

    update:
    yesterday as I was going out the door for a lunchtime ride, a guy I don’t know yelled “Cav!” at me (as in Cavendish). So at least someone knows a name other than LANCE. Progress!

    I still wasn’t able to slip out the door though without being noticed though.

  7. locovelo

    SHAME ON YOU! YOU SHOULD BE HONORED IF SOMEONE CALLS YOU LANCE! HE IS A GRATE MAN AND HAS DONE SO MUCH TO PROMOTE BOTH CYCLING, AND CANCER TO.

  8. Brian

    From now on, I insist that all comments be run through a spell- and grammar-checker.

  9. Anonymous

    Re: spell check: agread.

    But loco’s point is valid. You shouldn’t be knocking Lance, he is out there promoting cancer 24/7. He reads boards like this and if he likes what you have to say you will be reworded.

  10. Brian

    Sorry, that comment is rejected for not having passed the spell check.

    BTW … if Lance is promoting cancer … how much is his cut as promoter?

  11. @Anonymous: I sure hope your post was irony at its best. If so, good show – I laughed. If not … well, then it’s just sad.

    @locovelo –
    All caps = shouting. Has no one ever explained that to you?
    Grate? Really?
    Does Lance promote cancer? I thought he promoted the fight against cancer. Silly me.

    Oh … what was this post about again? Oh yeah, the TdF.

    I get asked many questions every year during the TdF. One of which is always “could I ride the race?” People mistake bike racing with the leisurely rides they went on as children. They simply have no idea how incredibly difficult it is to ride a bike at 25mph for 5 to 7 hours. Over mountains. In extreme heat. In cold. In rain.

    Versus coverage of the ’09 TdF was 40% Lance (mostly retrospectives), 30% commercials and – finally – 30% actually race footage.

    In short: It sucked. Luckily, the internet provides numerous alternatives for viewing the race. All of which are better than Versus.

    Hilarious clip from “The Colbert Report”
    http://www.colbertnation.com/the-colbert-report-videos/240129/july-29-2009/sport-report—tour-de-france—robotic-baseball

    Explaining that Lance is “a robot sent back in time from the future to make us care about cycling”.
    Also explaining that Contador is a douche.

    Ride on …

  12. locovelo

    NO ITS NOT SHOUTING IT ONLY MEANS I THINK BIG.

  13. Cyril

    Forget the spell check. What’s needed is a brain check through which thoughts should be run.

  14. Brian

    “Brain check”. I like it.

    Could be the next killer app:

    “The text you provided is devoid of intelligence.”

Leave a Reply

