When you come to a fork in the trail, take it

While out trail running at the West Woods, I came to a fork in the trail, happened to look down, and saw a fork laying in the middle of the trail. A few moments later I wondered whether someone did this as a joke.

It reminded me of the Yogiism: “When you come to a fork in the road, take it.” Now I know what that means, literally. I should have picked up the fork and taken it. But then that would spoil the fun for the next person who sees it.

If it wasn’t for trail running, I’m not sure I would find the motivation to run at all in the off-season. Running on the road every day would make my joints hurt, not to mention it’s boring. Running on the treadmill is bearable only with the weather is horrible.

But running on a trail, the miles seem to go by just like *that*. I think it’s in part because you have to pay more attention to where you’re going, and in part because the terrain is usually varied, and in part because it’s just more pleasant to look at trees than cars, houses, sidewalks, etc.

I’m looking forward to about a month from now, when the leaves are changing and my legs are acclimated, and I can do a nice long run on a crisp autumn morning … while trying not to think of all the leaves piling up in the yard.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “When you come to a fork in the trail, take it

  1. Brian

    nice. that one is a little bigger than the one I encountered.

Leave a Reply

