The Streak is Broken

I don’t mean the Cavaliers losing streak. Although … as a measure of how pathetic the Cavs have been, they went without a win for 2 weeks longer than I went without riding outside.

I hadn’t planned on riding at all, so I could have fresh legs for a 15km trail race the next morning. An inch of snow overnight made the roads wet and slushy, so riding outside didn’t seem to be a possibility anyway. But then the sun came out, and I started doing that anxious pacing, imagining that just maybe the roads would dry out enough to make it possible.

By 2:30 I couldn’t take it anymore. I had to get out. Snow, salt, wet roads … it didn’t matter. I needed to feel the sun on what little skin I dared to expose.

It was glorious. Well, as glorious as a ride on wet roads at 30 degrees F can be. My legs won’t be so fresh for the race in the morning, but it was worth it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

