The answer my friend …

After enduring a brutal winter, you’d think we would catch a break this spring. Sorry, this is Northeast Ohio, where reversion to the mean doesn’t apply to the weather.

The crappy winter made a smooth transition to crappy spring. If it’s not raining, it’s windy.

Three weeks ago I got the TT bike out on the road. Since then, literally every ride has been a battle with the wind. Not just a little wind, but scary-wind.

On 3 different occasions I’ve started on the TT bike only to turn back for home to switch to the road bike. I just wasn’t up for the stress of trying to keep from being blown into passing cars while down in the aero position.

Stress is the operative word here. Between wind noise in your ears and trying to ride in a straight line to avoid becoming road kill, riding just hasn’t been much fun. I’d like just one ride where I didn’t have to think about which direction would give me a tailwind on the way home.

The thing is … I typically enjoy riding, even when it might be a bit cold. Or a bit windy. But day after day, it becomes tiring.

Apparently there is an explanation: La Niña.

Well, I’m saying it: La Niña is a bitch.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The answer my friend …

  1. Jim

    I have been doing this for about 40 years and I can’t recall conditions like these before. It really takes the fun out of riding. I was doing 300 watts to go about 9 mph yesterday. That SUCKED!

    • Brian

      I can’t recall it being like this, for this long. A few days, OK. But weeks? Trying to ride the TT bike has made it even more noticeable. I guess you could say it’s good practice, but it’s just so unpleasant.

Leave a Reply

