A $300k new toy

On one of the online forums that I follow, someone started a thread asking “what is your favorite new toy that gets you excited to train?”

Predictable answers included things like new bike, new trainer, power meter.

My answer? We got a brand new velodrome. A new $300k toy.

That’s what it feels like. How could we in the NE Ohio cycling community have gotten so lucky? We got lucky because a group of people did the hard work to make it happen.

I have to admit that when I first heard about the project, I was skeptical. Great idea, but no way could anyone pull that off, around here anyway. Even when they announced that they would start building, my thought was that I’d believe it when I saw it.

Sadly, I think that we in this area have been conditioned to be skeptical and cynical. We believe it only when it happens.

The big lesson is that things only happen when people commit to making them happen. They may not always succeed, but they’ll never succeed if they aren’t willing to try and to possibly fail.

So. We in the cycling community have this new toy. Only this new toy needs ongoing support if it’s going to last, and if it’s going to progress to the next phase.

I rode the track a handful of times, and it was enough to get me thinking about making a donation to join the Founders Club ($1000). Then seeing local neighborhood kids riding the track convinced me. The kids have been there just about every time I’ve been there riding.

If the goal of 120 Founders Club members is met by end of the season, members get a season pass through 2015. That’s a pretty good deal. Of course you can donate whatever amount you are able.

Now that we have this, it is up to us to support it.

For more info on donating:
http://clevelandvelodrome.org/

***

… and a couple of video clips from my “new toy to go with the $300k new toy”:

5 Comments

Filed under track cycling

5 responses to “A $300k new toy

  1. Jim

    Glad that you feel the same way I do about this. As I tell people, I would never have imagined that we would have a velodrome in Cleveland. Happily I was WRONG! After all, this is Cleveland and we are used to disappointment. My thanx to all the people who had the vision to take on this task. Now it is up to the rest of us to keep the dream alive.

  2. Pete baughman

    I hear you!!!

  3. Kara

    I took Velo 101 today with my 15 year old son. We loved it – and yes, it felt like a new toy. I have to admit, I was nervous. I am a relatively new cyclist (5 years) and the banked track gave me pause. Then I remembered that physics was on my side, and I just rode…and got hooked. While we were there a man walked down into the infield and wanted to talk. He is in town for job interviews – he’s considering moving his family here from Wisconsin. He looked online for what the cycling scene looked like in Cleveland and had to come check out the velodrome. It made me really proud of our city and our cycling community for having this rare gem. Thanks to Brett, the board and all the volunteers. Now it is our turn to continue what’s been started.

    • Brian

      very cool! Rest assured that even well-seasoned cyclists are a bit nervous at first. I know I was (and still am to some degree).

      Many of us long-time racers have lamented the lack of new riders coming into the sport. The velodrome has potential to help with that.

Leave a Reply

