Nothing new under the sun


This happens at work a lot: what at first appears to be a unique (and brilliant) idea turns out to be neither new nor brilliant.

What ends up being important then is the execution.

Faced with a refrigerator full of leftover Thanksgiving food, and not really wanting to repeat the same meal, I thought I had this novel idea: make a Thanksgiving Leftover Pizza.

The idea was not met with enthusiasm.

But I persisted, and I must say, it was really good. On top of the pizza dough were mashed potatoes mixed with goat cheese, stuffing, turkey, and shredded smoked gouda (ok, that last one was not a leftover).

After doing a bit of googling, I realized that this was in fact not a new idea. Tons of people have done it.

But mine came out way better than this one:

http://www.theonion.com/articles/dominos-introduces-thanksgiving-feast-pizza,9354/

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Nothing new under the sun

  1. Jim

    I will give you that yours looks a lot better but there is no way I would have mashed potatoes and/or stuffing on a pizza. Heck, I don’t even want them as left overs.
    OTOH, very clever of you!

  2. I’d take yours over the Dominos pizza any day. The Dominos pizza scares me.

    • Brian

      Yes, the (fake) Dominos is scary. I thought about doing that, as a joke, but it seemed like a waste of perfectly good pizza dough.

      Homemade pizza is pretty much my favorite food, in part because there are so many different things you can do with it. Pizza would be my “if you could take one food to a desert island”

  3. Jim

    Not that there is anything wrong with that.

Leave a Reply

