Stepping back for minute …

It’s been 5 weeks since I broke my femur, and 4 weeks since I’ve been home from the hospital. People often ask how it’s going, and if things are getting better. I usually respond by saying something like, “it gets a little better each day, but it’s slow going.”

If I look at the bigger picture, and compare where I am today to where I was the day I came home, it seems a lot better. Four weeks ago I could barely bend my knee, struggled to get out of a chair and into and out of bed, and needed someone to get me important stuff … like coffee.

Today I can:
– bend my knee about 85 degrees
– do some simple PT exercises
– get in and out of the chair, on and off the bed using just my arm to lift my leg up
– walk with crutches when I don’t need to carry something
– sit on a bath chair, take a bath and wash my hair
– negotiate a step down to get outside on the patio for some sunshine
– make my own coffee, get food from the kitchen
– stand with one hand holding the counter, open wine and pour a glass

I’ve been out to the doctor, out for a haircut, out to the end of the driveway to watch the neighborhood Memorial Day lawn tractor races (that was my race experience for Memorial Day).

That list would be quite depressing if I don’t compare it to where I was initially — and even more so to when I couldn’t get out of bed in the hospital without passing out.

It’s hard to project where this rate of progress will take me. But I don’t have much of a choice, so I’ll have to take it. I’m hoping I can get out to at least *watch* a race this year, which will be enough for the moment.

2 Comments

Filed under accident, cycling, recovery

2 responses to “Stepping back for minute …

  1. Jim

    I know it won’t be of any real comfort but I compare this with where my ex is now. At 60 years of age, she has PLS/ALS. What this means is that she can not walk, can not talk, can not feed herself, and so on. This isn’t meant to make what you have seem small but it makes me realize, and be thankful for, what I can do.
    Hang in there, I look forward to riding with you again.

  2. Brian

    Thanks. I hear you on that, and let me say, I’ve thought about stuff like that many, many times over the last 5 weeks. I at least have my leg still attached, and my prognosis is for it to get better, not worse. It is quite eye-opening to realize all the little daily things that you normally do, that you don’t need help doing, and then that suddenly you can’t do on your own and depend on others.

Leave a Reply

