What next?

Today I’m feeling like I do on the Tuesday when the Westlake training series ends: what am I going to do now?

Since I’m not racing now, I’m racing vicariously through watching the Tour de France. This is the closest I’ve following it in years. It may not have been the most dramatic race, but it’s still compelling to see the progression of a 3-week race — from the initial nervous racing, crashes, and then the suffering in the mountains.

Because I’ve watched so much this year, I’ve found myself paying a lot more attention to the scenery. Which caused me to make a decision: once I’m sufficiently recovered, and able, I want to ride through the Alps and the Pyrenees.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I figure that is good motivation, and will be a good reward, for getting myself able to ride again. It’s also a reminder that the simple joy of riding was what led me down this path in the first place.

Coincidentally, while looking for pictures from this year’s tour, I came across this relevant post from snowboarder Gretchen Blieler, about her recovery from a serious training accident: http://www.teamusa.org/Team-USA-Winter-Bloggers/Gretchen-Bleiler/Life-Lessons-One-Year-Later

Tomorrow the racers in Le Tour will wake up and feel compelled to go ride for several hours. They won’t feel right otherwise. I know that feeling just from a week of racing at Tour of Ohio or Superweek.

Thankfully, I won’t feel compelled to watch television for 3 hours.

Leave a comment

Filed under cycling

Leave a Reply

