Mondays and Fridays are easy days

For a long time now, I’ve been one of those “I need to ride every day” type of guys.

Maybe I should rephrase: it’s not so much that I need to, but that I generally feel better when I do. A big part of that is psychological: doing a job where I’m sitting most of the time, doing something physical — and getting some sunlight — is good for my mental health.

That’s been one of the difficult aspects of this ordeal the last 3 months.

It’s finally changed. On August 5 I was cleared to ride a stationary bike.

I’ve ridden every day since then. At first on the stationary bike, and then after a few days, on my own bike on the trainer. Today I realized that I’m following the same routine I had 3 months ago: come home from work, change into cycling clothes, go ride.

And then have that good-tired feeling in the legs. This morning was the first time I’ve woken up with that feeling, because last night was the first time I’ve actually worked up a good sweat while on the trainer.

I rode again today, and will ride again tomorrow, because it will be Friday, and Friday is always an easy-spin day.

2 Comments

Filed under cycling, recovery

2 responses to “Mondays and Fridays are easy days

  1. We are creatures of habit. Even when that habit is broken for a few months.
    It’s been nearly 3-1/2 years since I last raced my bike. But I still follow that same pattern: M & F = easy days.

    • Brian

      Isn’t that wild? I was thinking of that too. Just naturally … I started up that same routine even though there is absolutely no reason for me to do it at this time.

      Beautiful Friday night to watch track racing again!

Leave a Reply

